Bolinda Home Page

Login

Basket totals

Items:
0
Total:
NZD$ 0.00

Search Results

You searched for '23 January 2020-23 April 2020'. 462 results were found.
To add items to your order, enter quantity and click 'add selected products to order'
Correspondents (MP3)
Released the same day as the standard print edition
Title:
Correspondents (MP3)
Written by:
Tim Murphy 
Read by:
Assaf CohenNecar Zadegan 
Format:
Unabridged MP3 CD Audio Book 
Number of CDs:
Duration:
15 hours 34 minutes 
MP3 size:
649 MB 
Published:
January 23 2020 
Available Date:
January 23 2020 
Age Category:
Adult 
ISBN:
9781529042665 
Genres:
Fiction; Contemporary Fiction 
Publisher:
Bolinda/Macmillan audio 
Qty
Format
Price
Bolinda price
NZD$ 54.95
NZD$ 54.95
 

Correspondents is an epic family saga, for fans of The Kite Runner and The Sympathizer.

Spanning the breadth of the 20th century and into the post-9/11 wars and their legacy, Correspondents is a powerful novel that centres on Rita Khoury, an Irish-Lebanese woman whose life and family history mirrors the story of modern America. Both sides of Rita’s family came to the United States in the golden years of immigration; in her home north of Boston, Rita grows into a stubborn, perfectionist and relentlessly bright young woman. She studies Arabic at university and moves to cosmopolitan Beirut to work as a journalist and is then posted to Iraq after the American invasion in 2003. In Baghdad, Rita finds for the first time in her life that her safety depends on someone else, her talented interpreter, Nabil al-Jumaili, an equally driven young man from a middle-class Baghdad family who is hiding a secret about his sexuality. As Nabil’s identity threatens to put him in jeopardy and Rita’s position becomes more precarious as the war intensifies, their worlds start to unravel, forcing them out of the country and into an uncertain future.

'Murphy artfully connects multiple narratives to produce a sprawling tale of love, family, duty, war, and displacement. It is above all a stinging indictment of the ill-fated war in Iraq and the heavy tolls it continues to exact on its people.'
Khaled Hosseini, author of The Kite Runner