Bolinda Home Page

Login

Basket totals

Items:
0
Total:
NZD$ 0.00

Search Results

You searched for '12 March 2021-12 June 2021'. 431 results were found.
To add items to your order, enter quantity and click 'add selected products to order'
Title:
The Truth About Her (MP3)
Written by:
Jacqueline Maley 
Read by:
Lara Robinson 
Format:
Unabridged MP3 CD Audio Book 
Number of CDs:
Duration:
11 hours 51 minutes 
MP3 size:
513 MB 
Published:
April 01 2021 
Available Date:
April 01 2021 
Age Category:
Adult 
ISBN:
9781460787489 
Genres:
Fiction; Contemporary Fiction; General Fiction; Literary Fiction 
Publisher:
Bolinda/HarperCollins audio 
Qty
Format
Price
Bolinda price
NZD$ 54.95
NZD$ 54.95
 

Australian author
Debut novel

A tender, witty, intelligent and moving exploration of guilt, shame, female anger, and, in particular, mothering, with all its trouble and treasure, The Truth About Her is a striking, stylish and mostly, a story about the nature of stories – who owns them, who gets to tell them, and why we need them.

Journalist and single mother Suzy Hamilton gets a phone call one summer morning, and finds out that the subject of one of her investigative exposes, 25-year-old wellness blogger Tracey Doran, has killed herself overnight. Suzy is horrified by this news but copes in the only way she knows how - through work, mothering, and carrying on with her ill-advised, tandem affairs. The consequences of her actions catch up with Suzy over the course of a sticky Sydney summer. She starts receiving anonymous vindictive letters and is pursued by Tracey's mother wanting her, as a kind of rough justice, to tell Tracey's story, but this time, the right way. A tender, absorbing, intelligent and moving exploration of guilt, shame, female anger, and, in particular, mothering, with all its trouble and treasure, The Truth About Her is mostly though a story about the nature of stories – who owns them, who gets to tell them, and why we need them. An entirely striking, stylish and contemporary novel, from a talented new writer.

'A stunning novel, sharply observed, beautifully written, enthralling.'
Julia Baird, author of Phosphorescence

'I loved The Truth About Her. It's an intelligent, compelling, nuanced tale of guilt, culpability, pride, shame and atonement. But most of all, it's a love letter to daughters, from the mothers who raise them. An astoundingly good debut.'
Annabel Crabb

'Heartfelt, funny and will resonate with many readers. This tender, witty and beautifully written novel is for fans of Georgia Blain, Charlotte Wood and Ann Patchett.'
Books + Publishing

'An intimate world filled with characters I could have lived with a great deal longer ... rewarding, enjoyable and utterly addictive addictive.'
Readings

'Read the first sentence of Jacqueline Maley's debut novel, and you will be in it until the end. Electrifying, deeply unsettling and so, so satisfying. And, if you've ever tried to manage the sharp end of a career with the blunt demands of parenthood, fiercely recognisable.'
Meg Mason, author of Sorrow and Bliss

'I loved The Truth About Her. I could not put it down - whip-smart, sexy and with so much heart - and god, that ending packed a punch. The sort of book that all mothers need to read.'
Eliza Henry-Jones, author of In the Quiet and Ache